Getting Started beyond Binking Blue LED

I have been playing around with my shiny new carloop device with the RedBear Duo attachment. I think I’ve succeeded in getting the device onto my network and loading the three demo programs for Carloop. The obd_blink.cpp program appears to be blinking the blue led when connected to my car’s obdii port. My attempts to do anything meaningful with the other two programs has so far eluded me. I am using Ubuntu 16.04 on my notebook. I would be grateful if you could help me get to the point where I can get data out of the obdii port and onto my screen. As you may have guessed so far I am totally new to the can protocol. Thank you.

@Timbergetter,

Which other two programs are you referring to? It is important to choose a program that will get the car data that you are interested in. Sometimes, it is best to start with the simple example to get the VIN number; that one helps sort out if your car uses regular or extended 29-bit CAN messages.

For communication with your notebook, how do you want it to talk to the RedBearDuo? One of the easiest ways is USBserial and then all you have to do is run a terminal program on your laptop.

Thanks cyclin. The other 2 progs are socketcan-serial.ino and carloop-minimal.ino which come along with the carloop library. I would be happy if I could get the vin number as a starter, but I have no idea if my 2007 Subaru Forester uses extended messages. So any terminal emulator would be all I’d need in addition to USBSerial? If my Suby is not using extended messages can you suggest another feature I could target for testing?

@Timbergetter,

I am pretty sure your 2007 Subaru uses standard CANbus. In fact, when I saw 2007, I checked this resource to see if your car even uses CANbus. It does, thankfully!
http://www.alpha-bid.com/media/Shared-Pics/OBD2_protocols.pdf