I'm a bit lost Carloop Pro + Chevy Volt

I have a Carloop and a car. I want to do intelligent things mostly around battery level. I did the Hello World app and that worked fine. Now I want to see the CAN messages, preferrably via my USB wire to save on bandwidth costs. Where is the documentation for the carloop API? It would be very helpful to get going DIY.

I would suggest you take a look at the sample firmware apps for carloop.
This is the link:
https://www.carloop.io/apps/

When it comes to coding, it is not an API, but is an object. See the docs here:

If you want to know what the CAN messages mean for a chevy volt, then you probably need to reverse engineer it yourself or join a chevy volt forum where someone else has posted the CAN messages used in the volt. Every model of car is different…

That pages doesn’t document any of the functions nor includes all the methods transmit?. Is there an example showcasing all the methods and especially the query format.

I’m not able to make vehicle specific queries: OBD-II PIDs - Wikipedia

CANMessage message;
	message.id = 0X7DF;
	message.len = 8;

message.data[0] = 0x02; // 0 = single-frame format, 2	 = num data bytes
	message.data[1] = 0x22; // special Chevy mode
	message.data[2] = 0x00;        
	message.data[3] = 0x5b; // OBD PID
	carloop.can().transmit(message);

No response is received for this query. The mode and PID for this call (hybrid voltage battery percentage) is 22005B

Instead of jumping into car-specific queries, I suggest figuring out basic operations. Can you get any of the sample firmware apps going, without modifying the sample? That will do two things. The first is figuring out how your car actually responds to the carloop. Things like what speed the CANbus runs on, and whether the exposed CANbus of the car is the primary bus or a secondary bus. Also, you can see how the carloop object is used in the sample firmware.