Pre Purchase Questions

I’m new to the car hacking community and I had a few questions about the carloop. My idea was to be able to control the locks of my car through the carloop. I purchased a different board called the machine m2 and I was wondering if the developer software works with the macchina m2? I’m planning on working on a VW gti MK5 and I am aware that the can bus data can’t be read through the OBD2 port due to a gateway module and I’m fine splicing my way into the comfort bus to access and control the locks on my car that way.

@kman833,

Your VW is similar to a whole lot of other vehicles. You can access the CAN bus available on the OBD2 port for vehicle diagnostics using the OBD2 messages. That’s required by law in the USA, Canada and some other countries. For vehicle security, the module that does the OBD2 functions is also a gateway preventing access to the other communications busses in the vehicle. This is where you need some research on your particular vehicle.

It seems you have done some of the research, and the communications bus you need is called the comfort bus. Does this bus use the CANbus protocol? Is there a convenient place to hook into the wiring of this bus? (For example, on some Dodge vehicles, it is known as a secondary CANbus and can be hooked up near the car radio using the Carloop CANhitch (rather than the Carloop itself)). On the chance that VW uses something other than CANbus, then Carloop will not work. If the VW does use CANbus, then you are all set to get started.